Blogging 101: Write to Your Dream Reader

I have been blogging for several years and I have learnt a lot by doing, but there are things I sometimes think I would like to know how to do so I took the opportunity to sign up for Blogging 101.

Yesterday’s assignment was to write to you dream reader. This bears some thought.

This is a blog about photographs, the main theme is the urban environment in the town where I live. This also means flowers, birds and other things that come to my attention.

As a young girl I went to a photographers school for two years and learnt the basics of photography. Of course it is good to know how to do something but you also have to find out the kind of pictures you want to take. And I didn´t find it then. So the camera was put away for many years, only to be taken out to document children and pets from time to time. But at the end of the 1990s we got a digital camera and I suddenly looked around and started to think about how the town had changed and started to take pictures of streets in a small scale.

When my daughter started at a new riding school we usually had time on our hands before the riding lesson as the pony she rode usually was ridden on the lesson before ours. As we didn´t have to make the horse ready for riding we went to look at the horses in the paddock and I took pictures of them. A dream for a horseloving little girl to have a mother to photograph horses. And I still do that when I visit her.

And by this you know what kind of photos my picture shoeboxes are full of. Streets, landscapes, horses, animals, sports, and of course now and then some family photographs. But my children are rather shy of the camera but they have a lot of patience when mother finds some photo opportunity. They start to fiddle with their phones and don´t notice when I start walking again. And of course complains that I have suddenly disappeared when I see something new in the viewer of my camera. But they are very patient.

A few years back I went to photography courses at a university. And there was the discussion about pictures I missed out on when I was young. I think it is important to discuss and help students what kind of work they will do and what suits their style.

And after I got the digital system cameras my photography has exploded. It is cheap, you can take a lot of pictures and chose the best. With the help of computer programs you can correct exposure, contrast, colour, and if you want to make pictures that leave the realistic world you are free to do so. In the old photo world you needed a lab of your own to make these corrections. Although I usually state when the pictures are too much altered, especially when I publish scanned photos.

Who is then my dream reader?

Someone that is interested in my corner of the world. I mostly take photographs from ordinary life even when I am travelling. And what is exotic to me is someone else’s ordinary life, as can be seen in the pictures I have taken from the places where my children live and have lived.

I try to give information about the subjects in the picture but sometimes I don´t know for example what kind of insect, bird or flower it is. Or the exact spot when I am travelling. I would like to thank the people that have helped me with this, either supplied the information or given a link to information to be found. I appreciate it a lot.

I also would like to thank all of you that like my pictures or write an encouraging comment. I have also had request for use of pictures. Vera Ersilia have used one of my pictures from Weekly Weather (one of my other blogs) to illustrate a story with the title The Pond All summer and Griffla (also participating in Blogging 101 ) is using some of my pictures to illustrate her  online creative writing workshop. Many thanks! I think it is lovely to see that my pictures can be used to illustrate stories and workshops.

All in all it is like standing on a shore or looking out into space but not seeing the whole sea or the whole space, only those parts that makes themselves known to me. I think my blog is different for every viewer that comes here. I know I have different motives when I look at other people’s blogs. It may be information, it may be entertainment, learning or a myriad of reasons.

Below is a picture of the waves lapping at the stones at the beach by Öresundsbron, the bridge connecting Sweden with Denmark.

DSC_4107

 

