Borås – the fence streets

November 14, 2015 will be the Archive´s day in the Nordic countries and I pondered  Gränslöst or limitless that is the theme for “Archive´s day” more after the post I made earlier on this blog I came up with another idea for the theme.

Borås was founded as a merchant town in 1621 to legalize the existing trade by “knallarna” – the wandering salesmen. The king wanted the taxes on the sales and the town merchants in other cities of course didn´t like the unregulated competition.
Borås was founded on a bend on the river Viskan and surrounded by fences with town gates as was usual in those days. The streets surrounding the city was called the fence streets – staketgatorna. I have tried to take pictures from vital places I found on a big wall map and a colleague told me about the fence streets and the founding of Borås.

Please click on the gallery below to follow me around Borås and its sights as defined by a map from the 18th century. I am sorry about the dark pictures but it is dark when I go to and from work at this time of the year.

More on Wikipedia about Borås. For those in Borås on Saturday one can visit the town archive and listen to a lecture about architecture in Borås in the 1950s and 1960s. There is also an small display with pictures from Borås during that period. To see this years poster with a picture form the dispay look here.

As I shared my earlier post on this theme in response to The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge: “Boundaries.” I do the same with this posting.

