Hörja church

Boring Postcards

Hörja parish church in northern Scania, built in the thirteenth century. The tower is added 1924. My grandparents and my aunt and uncles are buried here. Hörja parish church in northern Scania, built in the thirteenth century. The tower is added 1924. My grandparents and my aunt and uncles are buried here. We are in the northern parts of Scania famous for it guerilla fighters during the Scanian war between Denmark and Sweden. The war ended with Scania and the neighbouring provinces of Blekinge and Halland belonging to Sweden. Scania was danish until 1658.

This is Hörja church, one of the parishes my father´s ancestors came from. Most of his ancestors moved between Hörja, neighbouring parishes Finja and Västra Torup as far as I have been able to trace them which probably means they were here long before the 17th century. The oldest I have been able to trace are born in the 1400s.

In the autumn after my aunt died my son andI went for mass at All Saint´s Day to this church. All Saint´s…

View original post 100 more words

