Portrait of a house sparrow

Birdbrain

DSC_8498There is a tree outside my bedroom window just the right height to let me spy on the sparrows. A few years back there was a vine that had covered the tree and the birds were very fond of the tree.This is a female house sparrow. More information about house sparrows on Wikipedia.

I always come to think of the Swedish poet Nils Ferlin and his little sad poem about a sparrow when I see the bird. I have made a try to translate the poem below and at the bottom of the page is a Youtube-link to an artist singing the poem.

More critters at Camera Critters and Saturday’s Critters and more winged pictures at Wild Bird Wednesday and The BIRD D’Pot .

English Swedish
Not even a gray little bird
who sings on the green twig
there is on the other side
and that makes me sad.

Not…

View original post 95 more words

